Catalog

Record Details

Catalog Search



The secret life of groceries : the dark miracle of the American supermarket  Cover Image Book Book

The secret life of groceries : the dark miracle of the American supermarket

Lorr, Benjamin (author.).

Summary: "In the tradition of Fast Food Nation and The Omnivore's Dilemma, an extraordinary investigation into the human lives at the heart of the American grocery store. What does it take to run the American supermarket? How do products get to shelves? Who sets the price? And who suffers the consequences of increased convenience end efficiency? In this alarming exposé, author Benjamin Lorr pulls back the curtain on this highly secretive industry. Combining deep sourcing, immersive reporting, and compulsively readable prose, Lorr leads a wild investigation in which we learn: The secrets of Trader Joe's success from Trader Joe himself/ Why truckers call their job "sharecropping on wheels;" What it takes for a product to earn certification labels like "organic" and "fair trade;" The struggles entrepreneurs face as they fight for shelf space, including essential tips, tricks, and traps for any new food business; The truth behind the alarming slave trade in the shrimp industry. The result is a page-turning portrait of an industry in flux, filled with the passion, ingenuity, and exploitation required to make this everyday miracle continue to function. The product of five years of research and hundreds of interviews across every level of the industry, The Secret Life of Groceries delivers powerful social commentary on the inherently American quest for more and the social costs therein"--

Record details

  • ISBN: 9780553459395
  • ISBN: 0553459392
  • ISBN: 9780553459401
  • Physical Description: print
    328 pages ; 24 cm
  • Publisher: New York : Avery, an imprint of Penguin Random House, [2020]

Content descriptions

Bibliography, etc. Note: Includes bibliographical references (pages [277]-316) and index.
Formatted Contents Note: Introduction: between the ice and you -- Salad days at Trader Joe's -- Distribution of responsibility -- Self-realization through snack -- The retail experience -- When I look in my window: backstage in the theater of retail -- The bottom of the commodity chain -- Afterword: the long road from P'Aon to Amazon-Whole Foods.
Subject: Supermarkets United States Management
Grocery trade United States
Food supply United States
Supermarkets Management
United States
Genre: Instructional and educational works.

Available copies

  • 0 of 1 copy available at Homer Library. (Show)
  • 0 of 1 copy available at Homer Library System. (Show)
  • 0 of 1 copy available at Homer Public Library.

Holds

  • 0 current holds with 1 total copy.
Show Only Available Copies
Location Call Number / Copy Notes Barcode Shelving Location Status Due Date
Homer Public Library 381.4 LOR (Text) 000157886 Nonfiction Checked out 03/02/2024


Additional Resources