Record Details

Catalog Search



The last stargazers : the enduring story of astronomy's vanishing explorers / Emily Levesque.

Levesque, Emily, (author.).

Available copies

  • 0 of 1 copy available at Homer Library.

Current holds

0 current holds with 1 total copy.

Location Call Number Barcode Shelving Location Holdable? Status Due Date
Homer Public Library 520.922 LEV 000158405 Nonfiction Place on copy / volume Checked out 09/15/2021

Record details

  • ISBN: 9781492681076
  • ISBN: 1492681075
  • Physical Description: xvi, 313 pages : illustrations ; 23 cm
  • Publisher: Naperville, Illinois : Sourcebooks, [2020]

Content descriptions

Bibliography, etc. Note:
Includes bibliographical references (pages 293-295) and index.
Formatted Contents Note:
First light -- Prime focus -- Has anybody seen the condors? -- Hours lost : six. Reason : volcano -- The harm from the bullets was extraordinarily small -- A mountain of one's own -- Hayrides and hurricanes -- Flying with the stratonauts -- Three seconds in Argentina -- Test mass -- Target of opportunity -- The supernova in your inbox -- Synoptic future.
Summary, etc.:
"For readers of Labgirl and Neil DeGrasse Tyson, The Last Stargazers combines the exciting travels of award-winning astronomer Emily Levesque with the misunderstood antics of a scrappy (and shrinking) crew of scientists working with stars and telescopes. She dissects both the romance and the real human curiosity that is so important to our exploration of space. Amidst the lonely quiet of stargazing to wild bears loose in the observatory, these love stories of astronomy show how scientists are going beyond the machines to infuse important creativity and intimate passion into the stars, inspiring future generations to peer skyward in pursuit of the universe's secrets"-- Provided by publisher.
Subject: Levesque, Emily.
Astronomy > Popular works.
Astronomers > Popular works.
Astronomical observatories > Popular works.
Astronomers.
Astronomical observatories.
Astronomy.
Genre: Popular works.
Autobiographies.
Biographies.