Record Details

Catalog Search

The first collection of criticism by a living female rock critic  Cover Image Book Book

The first collection of criticism by a living female rock critic / Jessica Hopper ; [foreword by Samantha Irby].

Hopper, Jessica, (author.). Irby, Samantha, (writer of foreword.).


"A revised and expanded edition of celebrated critic Jessica Hopper's pioneering music writing"-- Provided by publisher.

Record details

  • ISBN: 9780374538996
  • ISBN: 0374538999
  • Physical Description: xvi, 426 pages ; 19 cm
  • Edition: Revised and expanded, first MCD x FSG Originals edition.
  • Publisher: New York : MCD x FSG Originals, Farrar, Straus and Giroux, 2021.

Content descriptions

General Note:
"Originally published in 2015 by Featherproof Books, Chicago"--Title page verso.
Formatted Contents Note:
Foreword / by Samantha Irby -- Introduction: I have a strange relationship with music -- Part I: Chicago -- Part II: Real/Fake -- Part III: Death/Redemption -- Part IV: Nostalgia -- Part V: California -- Part VI: Strictly business -- Part VII: Desire, power, pleasure -- Part VIII: Personal/Political -- Part IX: She said -- Afterword.
Subject: Rock music > 2001-2010 > History and criticism.
Rock music > 2011-2020 > History and criticism.
MUSIC / History & Criticism.
Rock music.
Genre: Criticism, interpretation, etc.

Available copies

  • 1 of 1 copy available at Homer Library. (Show)
  • 1 of 1 copy available at Homer Library System. (Show)
  • 1 of 1 copy available at Homer Public Library.


  • 0 current holds with 1 total copy.
Show Only Available Copies
Location Call Number / Copy Notes Barcode Shelving Location Status Due Date
Homer Public Library 781.6609 HOP (Text) 000162454 Nonfiction Available -

Additional Resources