Record Details

Catalog Search



Available copies

  • 1 of 1 copy available at Homer Library.

Current holds

0 current holds with 1 total copy.

Location Call Number Barcode Shelving Location Holdable? Status Due Date
Homer Public Library F RICKERT 000163047 Fiction Place on copy / volume Available -

Record details

  • ISBN: 9781988964324
  • ISBN: 1988964326
  • ISBN: 9781988964348
  • ISBN: 1988964342
  • Physical Description: 247 pages ; 22 cm
  • Edition: First edition.
  • Publisher: Pickering, ON, Canada : Undertow Publications, [2021]

Content descriptions

Summary, etc.:
Meet Quark, a giant of a man carrying scars literally and figuratively, on his return to Bellfairie, as he searches for his father and clues to his mother's mysterious death. But no one goes to Bellfairie on purpose, it's always a wrong turn in someone's life, as Quark will soon learn.
Subject: Murder > Fiction.
Families > Fiction.
Families.
Murder.
Genre: Fantasy fiction.
Fiction.
Fantasy fiction.
Detective and mystery fiction.

Syndetic Solutions - BookList Review for ISBN Number 9781988964324
The Shipbuilder of Bellfairie
The Shipbuilder of Bellfairie
by Rickert, M.
Rate this title:
vote data
Click an element below to view details:

BookList Review

The Shipbuilder of Bellfairie

Booklist


From Booklist, Copyright (c) American Library Association. Used with permission.

Rickert's second novel (after The Memory Garden, 2014) begins with its end, with a giant man weeping in the middle of the diner in Bellfairie and passing away a few days later. The rest of the novel relates the events leading up to this mysterious conclusion as it follows the giant Quark, who returns to a seaside town after being informed of the disappearance of his harsh and secretive father. As Quark uncovers a variety of secrets about the man who raised him, his past, and his long dead mother, the holes in his memory cause him to stumble further and further into a web of small-town suspicion and hatred. Rickert's excellent, salt-soaked prose conjures up the mysteries and legends of Bellfairie from ghosts who wander the bluffs to the town's founding by a group of exiled bird people from far across the sea. Set against this seaside, Melville-esque backdrop, the book is also an affecting and tragic portrayal of a man struggling and failing to communicate and connect with those around him. Highly recommended for readers who enjoy Angela Carter, Kelly Link, or various other books that rest in the wide terrain between fantasy, horror, and literary fiction.